SuperFolder Central Reading Guide

Hey all, Jawa here. I noticed that we’ve been getting a few new SuperReaders/Writers on the site and I had a couple things I wanted to mention.

First – Welcome! It’s so cool to see new SuperFolders visit the site almost six years after the final book was published! I hope you all enjoy your time here on the site and make a lot of new friends.

Secondly, I wanted to give everyone (new and old) a reading guide for the site. Over the years, SFC has published hundreds of stories, and it can be a little confusing on what to read when and how all of the timelines work.

A while back, I made an “OYEU Timeline Explained” video on the SFC YouTube channel in anticipation for Twilight of the Student. This video was published nearly two years ago at this point, so I figured now is the time to give an update. If you guys want, I can make an updated video, but for now I’m just going to post this.

So here’s the official SFC Reading Guide:

The current iteration of the website.

  • Origami Yoda: Revisited
  • Marvel Origami Universe: Folds and One-Shots
  • DC Origami Universe: Folds and One-Shots
  • Fold of the Rings: Rebooted
  • Foldiana Jones

Minor crossovers with Main Canon allowed under certain circumstances.

  • Riordan Origami Universe
  • Wizarding Folds Universe
  • Cartoonigami Universe
  • Video Pleats Universe

No crossovers allowed with main or side canon. Completely standalone.

  • Origami Yoda: Legends
  • OYEU: Classics
  • MOU Elseworld Tales
  • DCOU Elseworld Tales
  • Standalone Between the Folds Stories

That all may seem a little confusing at first, so let’s break it down now y’all –

The “Main Canon” timeline is the current version of the site. The stories in this timeline are the most important to read on the site. They are the most current tales being written, and need to be read in order to understand the majority of the site.

“Side Canon” stories and universes aren’t “parallel” to the main canon per say, I think “adjacent” would be a better term. These stories can overlap with main canon if they so desire, but most of the time they are completely standalone in their respective universes.

The final timeline is the “Legends Canon”. This timeline is where your imagination reigns supreme. Stories in this timeline have no effects on anything else on the site and are completely standalone. Want Harvey and Clark to fight Jacob Minch with the Wishing Skittles? Sure, go ahead! How about the actual Darth Vader shows up at McQuarrie? Absolutely! This is probably where most new writers on the site start, before moving into the more complex story-lines and arcs found in the Main and Side Canon timelines.

My personal suggested reading order would be:

  • Marvel Origami Universe (MOU) Folds 1, 2, and 3
  • DC Origami Universe (DCOU) Folds 1 and 2
  • Origami Yoda and the Bounty Hunters Volume 1, 2 , and 3
  • MOU and DCOU One-Shots

After you read those, you’ll probably be caught up on most of what the site has to offer, and you can freely jump around and read the rest of the stories however you like.

Also keep in mind that my recommended reading order is recommended for a reason. You don’t have to 100% follow it, or even pay attnetion to it at all! In the end, it’s just a suggestion.

Anyways, I guess that about does it for this post! So thanks for reading, and May the Folds Be With You!

– Jawa and the SFCouncil


About Jawa

Your friendly neighborhood geek.

Posted on January 17, 2021, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is incredibly useful for anybody new! Thank you very much for putting this together.

Join the conversation by leaving a comment!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: